Mountains & Valleys

by Farra

This year, like all others since I graduated from college and officially entered adulthood, the holidays will be spent mostly working. Finding my place in this crazy job market has been a challenge to say the least, but I feel so fortunate to be where I am at now. I haven’t taken a vacation longer than three days in far too long and don’t know when the next one will be, but for now I am excited that I am able to plan small weekend getaways to satisfy my itch to travel.

The weekend of Christmas my brother, new sister-in-law, boyfriend, and I will be heading to the mountains for our annual ski trip (my brother and I have been going with our family since I can remember, and now we go with friends or our significant others, or both). The road trip is long but enjoyable, and it doesn’t hurt that the most delicious bakery, Erick Schat’s Bakkery, is on the way in. I’m so excited to get in a good day of snowboarding on Mammoth Mountain, and though we don’t celebrate the holiday (we’re Jewish), I just love being in a snow covered mountain town during Christmas.

The following weekend, my boyfriend and I are finally going on my belated birthday trip… we’ll be headed to Santa Barbara for a romantic getaway. We’re staying at a bed and breakfast and spending New Year’s Eve day wine tasting in the Santa Ynez Valley; I couldn’t think of anything I would rather do for the holiday.

Tomorrow is Monday, back to the daily grind… three weeks until Mammoth and four until Santa Barbara. Until then, snow capped peaks and lush wineries are what I’ll be daydreaming about…

{Image found here}

